SAFF Championship 2021: Participating teams, fixtures, tables, top scorers, squads, stadium and all you need to know


The 2021 SAFF Championship is the 13th edition of the competition since its inception in 1993. It is a biennial international men's football championship and this time hosted in Male, Maldives. 

India are the most successful nation in the SAFF Championship as they have won the competition a record eight times. In the final of the recently concluded edition, the Blue Tigers beat Nepal 3-0. 

Which nations are participating in the SAFF Championship 2021? 

  1. India

  2. Nepal

  3. Sri Lanka

  4. Bangladesh

  5. Maldives

Two other member nations in Pakistan and Bhutan have refrained from competing in the tournament. 

The Bureau of the FIFA Council suspended the Pakistan Football Federation (PFF) on April 7 2021 due to third-party interference. It was deemed as a serious violation of the FIFA statutes. The PFF headquarters in Lahore was taken over by a group of protestors and thereby dislodged the FIFA-appointed normalisation committee of the PFF led by Haroon Malik. The reins of administration were taken over by Syed Ashfaq Hussain Shah. FIFA warned PFF of consequences if the status quo was not restored. However, the situation remained unchanged which forced the FIFA Council to suspend Pakistan FA. Hence, no footballing activity can be undertaken by the national team. 

Whereas, Bhutan decided to refrain from participating in the tournament after the Bhutanese government did not grant necessary permission to send the national team abroad due to the Covid-19 pandemic. 

In which stadium was the SAFF Championship be played?

All the matches of the SAFF Championship were played at the National Football Stadium in Male, Maldives. 

SAFF Championship 2021 Fixtures & Results

Date Fixture Time Score
October 1 Sri Lanka vs Bangladesh 16:30 0-1
October 1 Nepal vs Maldives 21:30 1-0
October 4 Bangladesh vs India  16:30 1-1
October 4 Sri Lanka vs Nepal 21:30 2-3
October 7 India vs Sri Lanka 16:30 0-0
October 7 Maldives vs Bangladesh 21:30 2-0
October 10 Maldives vs Sri Lanka 16:30 1-0
October 10 Nepal vs India 21:30 0-1
October 13 Bangladesh vs Nepal 16:30 1-1
October 13 India vs Maldives 21:30 3-1
October 16 India vs Nepal (Final) 20:30 3-0

*All times are in IST.

When is the SAFF Championship 2021 final?

The final will be played on October 16 between the top two teams after the round-robin stage. 




Sunil Chhetri (India) 5
Ali Ashfaq (Maldives) 3
Anjan Bista (Nepal) 2
Manish Dangi (Nepal) 1
Topu Barman (Bangladesh) 1
Yeasin Arafat (Bangladesh) 1
Marvin Hamilton (Sri Lanka) 1
Dillon De Silva (Sri Lanka) 1
Suman Lama (Nepal) 1
Ayush Ghalan (Nepal) 1
Hamza Mohammad (Maldives) 1
Sumon Reza (Bangladesh) 1
Manvir Singh (India) 1
Suresh Singh (India) 1
Sahal Abdul Samad (India) 1

2021 SAFF Championship table:

Position Team P W D L GF GA GD Pts
1 India 4 2 2 0 5 2 +3 8
2 Nepal 4 2 1 1 5 4 +1 7
3 Maldives 4 2 0 2 4 4 0 6
4 Bangladesh 4 1 2 1 3 4 -1 5
5 Sri Lanka 4 0 1 3 2 5 -3 1

*Last updated after India's 3-1 win over Maldives.

Further reading:

Indian national team squad, fixtures, results, & table

SAFF Championship: List of winners (1993-2018)

Which country has defeated India the most in SAFF Cup?

The domestic league structure of India's SAFF rivals