Romeo Fernandes, Brandon Fernandes and Keenan Almeida among 45 players suspended by GFA

The Goa Football Association has suspended a host of players including well-known names for appearing in unofficial tournaments..

The Goa Football Association (GFA) has suspended a group 45 players from football-related activities after they were found violating rules by participating in unregistered local tournaments in and around Goa. 

The list of 45 players include several well-known names like Romeo Fernandes (East Bengal), Brandon Fernandes, Keenan Almeida and Adil Khan (Churchill Brothers SC) among others. The GFA have issued a show-cause notice and have asked the players to surrender their playing license. 

ISL finally enters Bengaluru market

The list of suspended players contain several others who have turned out for I-League and Indian Super League clubs in the past like Richard Costa, who has just sealed a move to East Bengal from Churchill Brothers, and Gabriel Fernandes who plays for Churchill. 

Apparently, the GFA were convinced of the players' guilt after receiving sufficient evidence in the form of photographs and videos. The association has alrady issued the notice to several players while some expect to receive it in a day or two. 

One of the players named provisionally suspended by the GFA told Goal, "The GFA will take a final decision on the suspension after getting our reply on the matter. We will be sending our apologies and we'll see what happens then." 

Here is the list of players suspended:  Romeo Fernandes, Gabriel Fernandes, Brandon Fernandes, Keenan Almeida, Joshua Vaz, Kingslee Fernandes, Anthony D'Souza, Agnelo Colaco, Seriton Fernandes, Victorino Fernandes, Joaquim Abranches, Samir Naik, Velito Cruz, Don Bosco Fernandes, Joaquim Carvalho, Jovel Martins, Mauvin Borges, Thapa, Clencio Pinto, Suraj Hadkonkar, Franzil Negredo, Micky Fernandes, Richard Costa, Nicholas Fernandes, Alesh Sawant, Joy Ferrao, Melwin Lobo, Jessel Carneiro, Peter Carvalho, Latesh Mandrekar, Lenny Pereira, Brian Mascarenhas, Leander D'Cunha, Marcus Mascarenhas, Mario Mascarenhas, Aaren D'Silva, Melroy Fernandes, Bruno Colaco, Nicolau Colaco, Cajetan Fernandes, Glan Martins, Raju Haldankar, Aniston Fernandes, Jyotesh Palkar, Tyson Caiado, Adil Khan.