Premier League Betting: Salah early favourite to retain PFA Player of the Year award ahead of Kane and Aguero

Last updated
The Liverpool forward has started the season well and is the shortest price to win the award, although Virgil van Dijk has been popular in the market

The race to be PFA Player of the Year is often an exciting one and after two games of the Premier League season, no clear frontrunner has emerged.

Last year’s winner Mohamed Salah is currently 7/1 (8.0) favourite with bet365, with the Egyptian having scored once and won a penalty in his two matches so far for Liverpool.

Salah famously scored a record 32 goals last season on his way to winning the individual award, as well as the Golden Boot, and so it is little surprise he is the market leader here.

Harry Kane Tottenham 2018-19

The man he beat to the top scorer crown, Harry Kane, is available at 9/1 (10.0) after finally breaking his August duck on Saturday afternoon by netting against Fulham in Tottenham’s 3-1 win.

Sergio Aguero, who scored the first hat-trick of the season in Manchester City’s 6-1 thrashing of Huddersfield, can be backed at 9/1 (10.0), with Eden Hazard and Naby Keita also priced at 9/1 (10.0).

There is a clear trend here in attacking players being the favourites and bet365’s Steve Freeth said: “N’Golo Kante bucked the creative trend by lifting the trophy two seasons ago but this year’s betting is once again dominated by goals and flair with Aguero and [David] Silva being punted.”

PFA Poty odds 2108 graphic

David Silva scored a sumptuous curling free kick for City on the weekend and is 10/1 (11.0) to claim the award and add to his accolades after being named in last season’s PFA Team of the Year.

Kante, incidentally, is available at 25/1 (26.0) but one of the more popular bets with bet365 has been Virgil van Dijk, who can be backed at 33/1 (34.0) after establishing himself as one of the best defenders in the league.

The Dutchman has solidified Liverpool’s backline since joining the club in January, with Freeth adding: “The only defender to win the award in the last 25 years was John Terry, but we have seen money for Van Dijk at three figure prices as he continues to impress at the heart of Liverpool’s defence.”

Bet365 Footer

Next article:
Neymar forced off in Brazil friendly with groin injury
Next article:
'It's so far behind' – USWNT star Morgan slams Women's World Cup prize money increase
Next article:
Scotland vs Israel: TV channel, live stream, squad news & preview
Next article:
France vs Uruguay: TV channel, live stream, squad news & preview
Next article:
How will Mexico line up against Argentina on Tuesday?