Nigeria Women Football Leagues get kick off dates

Samuel Ahmadu/Goal
The league board has announced that the country's women leagues will commence on March 25, 2017 as the second tier kickoffs two week later

The Nigeria Women Premier League will commence on March 25, 2017 with an abridged format.

This was ratified by club representatives and the new board of the Nigeria Women Football League at its congress held at Bently Hotel, Abuja on Wednesday.

At the Congress, the second division which is the Nigeria Women Professional Football League was announced to kick off two weeks after the commencement of the elite division.

16 teams will be competing in the topflight alongside the two newly promoted sides - Heartland Queens and Saadatu Kolo Amazons after the relegation of four teams.

Following the draw, Rivers Angels, COD Ladies, Bayelsa Queens, Ibom Angels, Heartland Queens, FC Robo, Sunshine Queens and Abia Angels make Group A.

In Group B are Delta Queens, Nasarawa Amazons, Osun Babes, Confluence Queens, Abia Angels, Adamawa Queens, Edo Queens and debutants Saadatu Kolo Amazons.

Top two finishers in each group will qualify for a Super Four women championship to decide the overall winner of the elite division.

Article continues below

For fixtures, reigning champions Rivers Angels will COD Ladies, while Bayelsa Queens will face Ibom Angels as Sunshine Queens will take on Abia Angels, while newcomers Heartland Queens will confront FC Robo in a Week One opener.

In Group B, Delta Queens will welcome Confluence Queens, Nasarawa Amazons will host Osun Babes as Pelican Stars battle Saadatu Kolo Amazons, while Edo Queens visit Adamawa Queens.

Rivers Angels are the defending champions of the Nigeria Women Premier League after defeating Nasarawa Amazons 4-3 on penalties following a goalless draw.