MLS Cup winners Moor, Beitashour headline 2018 free agent class

Drew Moor Toronto FC
Winslow Townson
The Toronto FC defenders are part of a group of players that will be free to sign with any team starting Tuesday at 3 p.m. ET

MLS Cup-winning defenders Drew Moor and Steven Beitashour are among 40 players eligible for MLS free agency, the league announced Sunday.

Free agency in MLS this winter requires players be out of contract — either due to expiration or an option being declined — be at least 28 years old during the 2018 season, and have a minimum of eight years in the league.

Moor and Beitashour were regular starters for MLS champion Toronto FC. The 33-year-old Moor made 24 starts in central defense while the 30-year-old Beitashour started 17 at right back and wing back.

They are not the only well-known veterans to hit the market this winter. Two U.S. national team veterans, Houston Dynamo fullback DaMarcus Beasley and Real Salt Lake goalkeeper Nick Rimando, are on the list.

Other players with U.S. national team experience on the list include 2016 MLS Comeback Player of the Year Chris Pontius of the Philadelphia Union, Seattle Sounders defender-midfielder Brad Evans, Colorado Rapids forward Alan Gordon and Dynamo midfielder Ricardo Clark.

Three players on the list — Robbie Rogers, Brian Carroll and Chris Rolfe — have announced their retirement.

MLS free agents are eligible to sign with any team in the league after 3 p.m. ET on Tuesday.

The list in full:

Goalkeepers: Tyler Deric, Brad Knighton, Eric Kronberg, Kyle Reynish, Nick Rimando, Josh Saunders, Chris Seitz

Article continues below

Defenders: Kevin Alston, DaMarcus Beasley, Steven Beitashour, Bobby Boswell, Bobby Burling, A.J. DeLaGarza, Brad Evans, Shaun Francis, Sean Franklin, Michael Harrington, Jordan Harvey, Jason Hernandez, Zach Loyd, Drew Moor, Robbie Rogers (retired), Chris Schuler, Chris Wingert, Sal Zizzo

Midfielders: Eric Alexander, Brian Carroll (retired), Ricardo Clark, Dilly Duka, Atiba Harris, Andrew Jacobson, Jeff Larentowicz, Javier Morales, Lamar Neagle, Patrick Nyarko, Chris Pontius, Ben Zemanski

Forwards: Chad Barrett, Alan Gordon, Chris Rolfe (retired)