News Live Scores

Mathoho and Dolly return as Ntseki announces Bafana Bafana squad for Zambia friendly

09:56 BST 23/08/2019
Molefi Ntseki, South Africa - May 2019
Ntseki has decided to make nine changes to the South Africa squad which participated at Afcon, for September's friendly against Chipolopolo

Bafana Bafana interim coach Molefi Ntseki has announced the squad which will play against Zambia in Lusaka on September 7.

Ntseki was given the responsibility to lead the national team following Stuart Baxter's resignation soon after the Afcon 2019 tournament. 

The 49-year-old mentor has kept the core of the team that represented South Africa in Egypt with Percy Tau, Thulani Serero and Thembinkosi Lorch all keeping their places in the squad. 

Ronwen Williams and Darren Keet have cracked the nod while Bruce Bvuma's place in the team has been taken by Bidvest Wits goalkeeper Brandon Petersen. 

Erick Mathoho makes his return to the Bafana setup after a scintillating start to the season where he has scored two goals already.

Daniel Cardoso has been overlooked, but Ntseki has shown faith in both Thulani Hlatshwayo and Buhle Mkhwanazi who were in Egypt with the team. 

Ntseki also included Cape Town City utility player Thato Mokeke as well as Thapelo Morena of Mamelodi Sundowns.     

Rivaldo Coetzee is back in the squad, and he is seen as a replacement for Hlompho Kekana, who didn't make the squad. 

Lebogang Phiri and Keagan Dolly will also travel with the team to Zambia next month alongside Kermit Erasmus and Bradley Grobler, while Lars Veldwijk has been left out completely. 

Bafana Bafana will use the friendly match against Chipolopolo to prepare for their Afcon 2021 qualifiers in November. 

Bafana squad in full

Goalkeepers: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport United), Darren Keet (OH Leuven), Brandon Petersen (Bidvest Wits)  

Defenders: Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thamsanqa Mkhize, Thato Mokeke (CT City), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford FC), Rivaldo Coetzee, Lebogang Maboe (all Sundowns), Dean Furman (SuperSport United), Lebogang Phiri (Guingamp), Bongani Zungu (Amiens), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Percy Tau (Club Brugge), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier

Strikers: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg, France), Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Kermit Erasmus (Cape Town City).