Malaysia Challenge Cup 2018 - who, what, when & how

All you need to know about the 2018 Challenge Cup, who are the teams in it and how competition format will be.

For the first time this year, teams that do not qualify for the Malaysia Cup, do not see their season end prematurely. The creation of the Challenge Cup is to give more playing opportunity for the other teams and their players to get more game time.

The competition will be one involving eight teams - one team from Super League (12th placed team), seven teams from Premier League (6th to 12th placed teams). However due to the fact that Kuantan FA were thrown out of the league, another team will be invited into the Challenge Cup to replace them.

One from Kelantan or Negeri Sembilan will join the competition depending on the results from the final Super League weekend. There they will be joined by Johor Darul Ta'zim II, UKM FC, Sarawak, UiTM FC, Pulau Pinang, Terengganu FC II and one invited team.

The draw will be held on Monday July 30 and it will be an open draw where the teams are not seeded and will be divided into two groups of four. The top two finishers in each group will advance to the semi-final stage of the competition. 

Fixtures schedule:
MD1: August 7-8
MD2: August 14-15
MD3: August 28-29
MD4: September 4-5
MD5: September 11-12
MD6: September 18-19
SF1: September 25-26
SF2: October 2-3
Final: October 13