Macarthur FC nickname questioned by amateur football club Fairfield Bulls

Not everyone is pleased by the new franchise's choice of label...

Sydney amateur football club Fairfield Bulls has revealed their disappointment after new A-League club Macarthur FC chose the same nickname.

The South West Sydney franchise unveiled their name, badge and colours on Wednesday, and will a present on the club's logo, media and fans are already referring to the team as 'The Bulls'.

But Fairfield, who were in the top NSW NPL division as recently as 2001, believes that a different nickname could have been chosen to represent the region as the Bulls name has been a part of their club for 26 years.

"While Fairfield Bulls are happy to see an A-League team representing the South West region of Sydney, we would like to stress that there are many more relevant names that could be associated with the new A-League club," the club said in a statement to Goal.

"Fairfield Bulls have been known as "The Bulls" since 1993, through to our tenure in the NSW Premier League (current NPL1) and to this present day."

Article continues below

Macathur FC will commence in the A-League when the 2020-21 season begin in approximately 17 months.

Current Matildas coach Ante Milicic will take the reins after coaching the women at the 2020 Olympics in Tokyo.

Former Socceroos captain Mile Jedinak has been heavily linked with the club as their first marquee signing.