News Live Scores
U17 World Cup

India U17 World Cup team - State wise representation of players

22:41 BST 21/09/2017
India U17 vs Mauritius U17
As many as eight players from Manipur made the cut in the 21-man squad for the India U17 World Cup team.

India U17 Head coach Luis Norton de Matos announced on Thursday the 21-man final squad for the FIFA U17 World Cup to be hosted by India.

Come next month, the India U17 team will rub shoulders with their contemporaries on the world stage after months of rigorous training and exposure trips abroad. While most of this squad had been first drafted in by former coach Nicolai Adam, there have been a few inclusions after Luis Norton de Matos' arrival earlier this year.

Led by Amarjit Singh Kiyam, the Colts in Group A will face the United States of America on the opening day of the event, which begins on 6 October. Colombia and Ghana are the two other teams which make up the group. India will play its group games at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in the national capital, New Delhi.

As far as the state wise contribution to the team is concerned, Manipur stands tall with as many as eight players in the squad. Goalkeeper Dheeraj Singh Moirangthem, defender Boris Singh Thangjam, midfielders Suresh Singh Wangjam, Ninthoinganba Meetei, Amarjit Singh Kiyam (c), Mohammad Shahjahan, Jackson Singh Thaunaojam and forward Nongdamba Naorem all hail from the North Eastern state. 

There are three players from Punjab in the squad - Goalkeepers Prabsukhan Singh Gill, Sunny Dhaliwal (Canada-based NRI) and defender Anwar Ali. West Bengal also has three representatives in Jitendra Singh (defender), Abhijit Sarkar (midfielder) and Rahim Ali (forward).

Defender Namit Deshpande (USA-based NRI) and star forward Aniket Jadhav are from Maharashtra while Hendry Antonay and Sanjeev Stalin (both defenders) are from Karnataka. 

Kerala, Mizoram and Sikkim also have a representative each in Rahul KP (forward), Lalengmawia (midfielder) and Komal Thatal (midfielder) respectively.