News Live Scores

Cubo Torres, Liga MX-based players named to Mexico's Gold Cup provisional roster

15:44 BST 07/06/2017
Erick Cubo Torres Mexico
The Houston Dynamo forward is the only non-domestic-based name on coach Juan Carlos Osorio's list for the continental championship

Mexico released its 40-man Gold Cup provisional roster Wednesday, with coach Juan Carlos Osorio naming just one player from outside Liga MX.

Honduras ready to shock Mexico

With much of Mexico's core side set to take part in June's Confederations Cup, El Tri will take an alternative side to the continental championship. That means Mexico's brightest stars, like Javier "Chicharito" Hernandez, Hector Moreno and Carlos Vela, won't take part in the Gold Cup.

Some first-team regulars are in the provisional squad, however, with Pachuca winger Hirving Lozano, Atlas defender Rafa Marquez, Santos defender Nestor Araujo, Tigres midfielder Jesus Duenas and Chivas midfielder Orbelin Pineda among the players who may participate in both tournaments. 

"We have a select group of players who are in a different situation, who although they might play in the Confederations Cup could be considered for the Gold Cup for two important situations: their personal situation or the position in which they play," Osorio said earlier this week.

The entire roster is domestic-based save for Houston Dynamo forward Erick "Cubo" Torres, who represented Mexico at the 2016 Olympics. Joining him on the provisional list are 10 of his former Chivas teammates, with the recently crowned champion placing the most players on the roster.

While the squad is expansive, fans in Guadalajara may feel the biggest slights are Chivas fullback Jesus Sanchez and Atlas defender Jose Maduena, who both had outstanding league campaigns but didn't earn a call.

Full roster:

Goalkeepers: Moises Munoz (Chiapas), Jesus Corona (Cruz Azul), Miguel Fraga (Atlas), Jonathan Orozco (Santos Laguna), Rodolfo Cota (Chivas)

Defenders: Raul Lopez (Pachuca), Luis Rodríguez (Tigres), Rodrigo Salinas (Toluca), Jorge Torres Nilo (Tigres), Alejandro Mayorga (Chivas), Jesus Molina (Monterrey), Oswaldo Alanís (Chivas), Carlos Vargas (Tijuana), Hedgardo Marin (Chivas), Hugo Ayala (Tigres), Cesar Montes (Monterrey), Luis Reyes (Atlas), Nestor Araujo (Santos Laguna), Rafa Marquez (Atlas), Jair Pereira (Chivas)

Midfielders: Jesus Gallardo (Pumas), Edson Alvarez (America), Jorge Hernandez (Pachuca), Jesus Duenas (Tigres), Rodolfo Pizarro (Chivas), Javier Salas (Atlas), Jesus Isijara (Necaxa), Javier Lopez (Chivas), Walter Sandoval (Santos Laguna)

Forwards: Orbelin Pineda (Chivas), Erick Gutierrez (Pachuca), Elias Hernandez (Leon), Jurgen Damm (Tigres), Martin Barragan (Atlas), Oribe Peralta (America), Erick Torres (Houston Dynamo), Alan Pulido (Chivas), Hirving Lozano (Pachuca), Angel Sepulveda (Queretaro), Angel Zaldivar (Chivas)