News Live Scores

Bernier, Larin headline 27-man Canada squad for Curacao friendly

20:01 BST 30/05/2017
Patrice Bernier Canada
Octavio Zambrano has summoned a largely domestic based group ahead of the June contest, which will serve as preparation for this summer's Gold Cup

Canada has announced a 27-man roster ahead of its June 13 friendly against Curacao in Montreal, and a local veteran is among the list of players chosen by head coach Octavio Zambrano.

Montreal Impact midfielder Patrice Bernier, who has amassed 53 international caps, returns to the Canadian fold after more than two years away from the program. The 37-year-old, who will retire following the 2017 MLS season, last played for Canada in a pair of friendlies against Iceland in January 2015.

Bournemouth signs Begovic from Chelsea

"Patrice Bernier is a stalwart that has played many times for Canada and has demonstrated his value," Zambrano said in a release. "Patrice can also help our young players who are looking to earn their places in the national team."

Zambrano has summoned a mostly domestic based side, with 17 of the 27 players employed by North American clubs. In addition, 17 of the players called by the Ecuadorian are 25 years old or younger, with four (James Pantemis, Kwame Awuah, Juan Córdova, and Mark-Anthony Kaye) looking to earn their first caps.

Familiar faces in the squad include Orlando City duo Cyle Larin and Will Johnson, FC Dallas attacker Tesho Akindele and Toronto FC striker Tosaint Ricketts.

"We have the perfect mix of experience and youth in this squad," Zambrano said. "We are looking forward to seeing how they come together on the pitch. With this camp, we have a chance to look at players for the CONCACAF Gold Cup, but also younger players that are part of our long-term plans."

Canada will have an intrasquad match four days prior to the Curacao meeting, with 18-20 players dressing for the June 13 friendly.

Here is the full roster:

GOALKEEPERS: Milan Borjan (MKS Korona Kielce), Maxime Crepeau (Montreal Impact), James Pantemis (Montreal Impact)

DEFENDERS: Fraser Aird (unattached), Kwame Awuah (New York City FC), Juan Cordova (CD Huachipato), Marcel de Jong (Vancouver Whitecaps), Andres Fresenga (Cerro Largo FC), Dejan Jakovic (New York Cosmos), Manjrekar James (Vasas Budapest), Wandrille Lefevre (Montreal Impact), Tyler Pasher (Sporting Kansas City), Adam Straith (FC Edmonton)

MIDFIELDERS:  Tesho Akindele (FC Dallas), Patrice Bernier (Montreal Impact), Raheem Edwards (Toronto FC), Kianz Froese (Fortuna Düsseldorf), David Junior Hoilett (Cardiff City), Will Johnson (Orlando City), Mark-Anthony Kaye (Louisville City FC), Jonathan Osorio (Toronto FC), Samuel Piette (CD Izarra), Russell Teibert (Vancouver Whitecaps), Marcus Haber (Dundee FC)

FORWARDS: Anthony Jackson-Hamel (Montreal Impact), Cyle Larin (Orlando City), Tosaint Ricketts (Toronto FC)