Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi to battle for Nigeria award

The former Leicester City man along with Shanghai Shenhua striker and the Arsenal midfielder will slug it out for the individual accolade

Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo, Alex Iwobi have all been nominated for the NFF Player of the Year award.

The Al-Nassr forward delivered a sparkling performance for the Super Eagles at the 2018 World Cup, scoring twice against Iceland to help his side claim their only win at the tournament.

The former Leicester City man also played a key role in helping the three-time African champions end their 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers series on a high, finishing as Group E leaders.

For Ighalo, he scored 21 goals for his former club Changchun Yatai, although was not enough to save them from relegation from the Chinese Super League, the forward - reportedly on Barcelona's radar - has since joined Shanghai Shenhua.

The 29-year-old replicated the form for his country, scoring seven goals during their qualifying campaign – the highest from any player in the qualifying series – to ease them into the finals in Egypt.

Article continues below

While Iwobi has continued to deliver decent showings for both Arsenal and the west Africans.

The trio of Galatasaray forward Henry Onyekuru, Villarreal winger Samuel Chukwueze and Sporting Charleroi striker Victor Osimhen have also been shortlisted for the Young Player of the Year.

The winners will be announced on Monday evening at a gala in Lagos.