Celtic Beat Tottenham Hotspur To Lift Inaugural Wembley Cup

The Bhoys picked up the first ever Wembley Cup, after dominating Spurs...
Celtic have become the first winners of the Wembley Cup, beating Tottenham Hotspur 2-0 on Sunday.

First Half

The Bhoys started the game well, pushing the inexperienced Spurs defence back towards their own goal.

The north London side were missing their main central defensive partnership of Ledley King and Jonathan Woodgate, and this showed when they conceded the first goal after just nine minutes.

Some good work down the right hand side by defender Paul Caddis presented Chris Killen with an inch perfect cross, and the New Zealand international was quick to take it, smashing a header past the helpless Heurelho Gomes.

Darren Bent went close for Spurs, after being put through on goal, but the striker's shot was well saved by Celtic 'keeper Lukasz Zaluska.

Tom Huddlestone also went close for the north London side, with his long range shot that was well parried by the Bhoys keeper.

The game was dominated by the Bhoys, and they doubled their lead on 40 minutes when Georgios Samaras' lung bursting run from the half-way line gave him the opportunity to drive the ball past the helpless Spurs 'keeper to give Celtic a 2-0 lead going into the half-time break.

Second Half

The second half continued much as the first had ended, with Celtic having the majority of the play and benefiting from some sloppy Spurs defending.

Celtic youngster Paddy McCourt then showed his brilliance by dribbling the ball round the Spurs defence, but his shot flashed just wide of the far post.

However, Spurs eventually began to pose a threat to the Celtic defence, with their best chance of the game coming on 75 minutes when substitute John Bostock's low driven cross just evaded the boot of Jermain Defoe.

This was how the score stayed, leaving Celtic to pick up the Wembley Cup trophy, just three days before their crucial Champions League qualifier against Dynamo Moscow.

Celtic: Zaluska; Caddis, Loovens, O’Dea, Fox; Mizuno, Flood, Crosas, McCourt; Samaras, Killen
Substitutes: Boruc, Naylor, Caldwell, NGuemo, Fortune, McDonald, Ferry, Hinkel, Donati, McGinn, Maloney, McGeady, Conroy, McGowan

Tottenham Hotspur: Gomes; Hutton, Chimbonda, Huddleston, Assou-Ekotto; Lennon, Dervite, Palacios, O’Hara; Bent, Keane
Substitutes: Cudicini, Pavlyuchenko, Modric, Naughton, Defoe, Corluka, Rose, Livermore, Bostock, Obika

Nick Turner, Goal.com