Kenya confirmed as hosts of the 2012 Cecafa Tusker Challenge Cup

The nation has been confirmed as the hosts of the 2012 Cecafa Tusker Challenge Cup after Tanzania held the competition the past two years
Kenya will host the 36th edition of the 2012 Cecafa Tusker Challenge Cup, which will be held in Nairobi. The tournament attracts countries from east and central Africa, plus invited guests from different parts of the continent.

This year's guests are Malawi and Zimbabwe, which have been placed in Group A and C respectively. The competition is aimed at improving the standard of football in the region.

Hosts and holders Tanzania will play their first match on Saturday against a rejuvenated Rwanda. The last time the two sides played each other was in 2010 and the Taifa stars beat Amavubi 1-0.

The 12 teams that will participate are:

Group A: Tanzania, Rwanda, Zimbabwe, Djibouti

Group B: Uganda, Burundi, Zanzibar, Somalia

Group C: Sudan, Kenya, Malawi, Ethiopia