Caf unveils 2013 Afcon qualification procedures

Forty six countries are set to aim for 15 spots at the 2013 Afcon with host nation South Africa getting automatic qualification to the continent's classic tournament

The procedures for qualifying to the 2013 Africa Cup of Nations were revealed on Friday October 28 in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea during a special draw held by the sub-committee of the Africa Cup of Nations organising committee.

South Africa automatically qualifies as hosts while 46 other teams will contend for 15 tickets to the final tournament.

The 16 teams participating at the 2012 Afcon will receive an automatic bye from the first two rounds and enter directly in the final round of the qualifiers that begins after next year’s showpiece.

Preliminary Round 1

Swaziland, Sao Tome, Seychelles, and Lesotho will meet in first and second leg to qualify two teams.

Preliminary Round 2

The two qualified teams from round 1 will join 26 others making 28 countries to play in first and second leg to qualify 14 teams.

Final Round

The 16 teams that qualified to the 2012 Afcon will join the 14 teams that qualified from the second round, making a total of 30 that will meet in first and second leg formula to qualify 15 countries, with hosts South Africa completing the number to the traditional 16 for the finals.

The Final Round will be played in September and October 2012.

Preliminary Round 1

Seychelles v Swaziland     (Win 1/2)

Sao Tome v Lesotho         (Win 3/4)

Preliminary Round 2

Ethiopia v Benin

Rwanda v Nigeria

Congo v Uganda

Burundi v Zimbabwe

Algeria v Gambia

Kenya v Togo

Win 3/ 4 v Sierra Leone

Guinea Bissau v Cameroon

Chad v Malawi

Win 1/ 2  v RD  Congo

Tanzania v Mozambique

Central Africa v Egypt

Madagascar v Cape Verde

Liberia v Namibia