Caf have split the West African Football Union into two separate zones

The football governing body decided to make these changes at a recent executive committee meeting
The Confederation of African Football have disbanded the West African Football Union and split it into two separate zones.

Caf explained that the decision was taken after "considering the organizational issues facing Wafu".

Western Zone A comprises of Cape Verde, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Mauritania, Senegal and Sierra Leone while Western Zone B has Benin, Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, Ghana, Niger, Nigeria, Togo.

Wafu has had a long history of discord, coming to a head three years ago when Caf and Fifa Executive committee members Amos Adamu and Jacques Anouma were locked in a bitter battle for control of the body.

Adamu eventually won, but was banned for three years from all football activity by Fifa over vote-buying claims for the 2018 and 2022 World Cup hosting rights. Adamu is appealing the ban at the Court of Arbitration for Sport.

Ghana Football Association President Kwesi Nyantakyi was appointed Interim President of Wafu in Adamu's absence.

This month's Wafu Cup tournament was hit by organisational problems, with three out of the eight countries pulling out.

Follow on . Get the latest football news direct... Check out's  page; be part of the best football fan community in the world!