Zambia dominate 2012 Africa Cup of Nations awards

The Chipolopolo came out on top in the 2012 Afcon final against Cote d'Ivoire, and they were the recipients of a number of accolades
Zambia proved at this Africa Cup of Nations that spirit and determination can take a team further than reputation.

Zambia captain Christopher Katongo was awarded the Man of the Competition award, with the Top Scorer award going to Emmanuel Mayuka.

The Chipolopolo skipper inspired his team to a first-ever Nations Cup victory, despite their underdogs tag, as they beat Ivory Coast 8-7 after an epic penalty shoot-out.

Katongo and his teammate Mayuka each got three goals in the tournament – as did Didier Drogba, Manucho, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, Cheick Diabate and Houssine Kharja – but Mayuka was given the award.

The Team of the Tournament features four Ivorians and four Zambians, as well as Seydou Keita and Adama Tamboura of Mali and John Mensah of Ghana.

The big names that were talked up ahead of the Nations Cup, such as Asamoah Gyan, Andre Ayew, Demba Ba and Mamadou Niang, did not make the tournament eleven, and although Gervinho does, his performances were ultimately overshadowed by the unlikely stars of Zamiba and their keeper, Kennedy Mweene.

In a tournament that many gloomily predicted would be "boring" without the powerhouses Egypt, Nigeria or Cameroon, Zambia, who were never even tipped as dark horses, gave fans one of the most exciting Afcon finals ever, catching the imagination and proving that big names do not equate to success, or even positive, charismatic football.

It is doubtful that the Ivorians' Fair Play Award will do much to dumb the pain of missing out on yet another title.

Tournament awards

Orange Man of the Competition: Christopher Katongo (Zambia)

Pepsi Top Scorer of the Competition: Emmanuel Mayuka (Zambia)

Samsung Fair Player of the Competition: Jean-Jacques Gosso Gosso (Cote d'Ivoire)

Fair Play Award: Cote d'Ivoire

Team of the Tournament

Kennedy Mweene (Zambia) – Gosso Jean-Jacques Gosso (Cote d'Ivoire), Stoppila Sunzu (Zambia), John Mensah (Ghana), Adama Tamboura (Mali) – Emmanuel Mayuka (Zambia), Yaya Toure (Cote d'Ivoire), Gervinho (Cote d'Ivoire), Seydou Keita (Mali) – Christopher Katongo (Zambia), Didier Drogba (Cote d'Ivoire)


Boubacar Barry (Cote d'Ivoire)
Fernando Da Gracia Gomez (Equitorial Guinea)
Youssef Msakni (Tunisia)
Mateus Contreiras Manucho (Angola)
Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon)
Sadio Diallo (Guinea)
Cheick Tidiane Diabate (Mali)
Eric Mouloungui (Gabon)
Houssine Kharja (Morocco)
Mudathir Eltaib Ibrahim (Sudan)
Rainford Kalaba (Zambia)
Kwadwo Asamoah (Ghana)