Herve Zengue left out as Burkina Faso name Africa Cup of Nations squad

The Stallions have left out the controversial Cameroonian-born defender from the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations preliminary list

Burkina Faso coach Paolo Duarte has published an initial 25-man squad for the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations without Cameroonian-born defender Herve Zengue, whose eligibility is being contested by Namibia.

Caf earlier threw out the Namibia Football Association (NFA) case against the 27-year-old Terek Grozny player and cleared Burkina Faso to participate in next year’s showpiece, but the NFA has taken the case to the Court of Arbitration for Sport, which will either confirm Burkina Faso’s qualification or strip them in favour of Namibia.

“The Court of Arbitration for Sport will pronounce their ruling between January 3 and 10. We are confident but remain cautious,” Burkina Faso Football Federation (FBF) told AFP on Friday.

Wilfried Sanou and Madi Panandetiguiri, who were both part of the Burkina Faso team at the previous Afcon, were also dropped, while Robert Sankara, Stephane Agbre and Issa Gouo were called up for the first time, as well as Bertrand Traore from Chelsea's youth academy.

The list with be cut to 23 by the end of the team’s two-week training camp in Cameroon, which begins on January 4.

Burkina Faso are matched up against giants Cote D’Ivoire, Sudan and Angola in Group A, which will be played in Malabo, Equatorial Guinea.

Name Club
Daouda Diakite KV Turnhout
Germain Sanou St Etienne
Adama Sawadogo Missile
Stephane Agbre Athletico
Ibrahim Gnanou Alania Vladikavkaz
Issa Gouo ASFA
Bakari Kone Lyon
Payul Koulibaly Charleroi
Robert Sankara ASEC Mimosas
Mamadou Tall Persepolis
Wilfried Balima Sheriff Tiraspol
Charles Kabore Marseille
Mahamadou Kere Konyaspor
Mohamed Koffi Petrojet
Djakaridja Kone Dinamo Bucharest
Jonathan Pitroipa Rennes
Traore Razak Lechia Gdansk
Florent Rouamba Sheriff Tiraspol
Alain Traore Auxerre
Bertrand Traore Chelsea
Aristide Bance
Moumouni Dagano Al Khor
Yahia Kebe Al Kharitiyath
Issiaka Ouedraogo Trenkwalder Admira
Narcisse Yameogo Desportiva Camacha