Melbourne Victory's Carlos Hernandez Wins Johnny Warren Medal At A-League Awards Night

The Costa Rican sensation has dominated the competition.
Melbourne Victory's Costa Rican playmaker Carlos Hernandez has taken out the A-League's highest individual accolade, the Johnny Warren Medal, at the A-League Awards ceremony.

Voted on by his playing peers throughout the season, Hernandez blitzed the field polling 673 votes ahead of Gold Coast United's goal-machine Shane Smeltz (431) and Wellington Phoenix import Paul Ifill (311).

Melbourne Victory coach Ernie Merrick was named the A-League Coach of the Year, as voted by his fellow A-League coaches. This is the second time that Ernie Merrick collected the Coach of the Year award after winning the 2006/07 trophy.

Archie Thompson completed Melbourne Victory's award haul by claiming the Goal of the Year for his Round 16 goal in the 68th minute against Gold Coast United at Etihad Stadium.

The Young Player of the Year Award went to Brisbane Roar's Tommy Oar who had the unanimous vote of the expert panel following his impressive performances throughout the season.

Shane Smeltz picked up the Golden Boot award as the A-League's top goalscorer for the second year in a row with 19 goals, seven clear of his closest rivals.

Also for the second successive season, Adelaide United's Eugene Galekovic took out the Goalkeeper of the Year award seeing off stiff competition from Central Coast Mariner's custodian Danny Vukovic and Clint Bolton from Sydney FC.

Having claimed the Premiership on the last day of the season Sydney FC took out the Fair Play award for accruing the least number of yellow and red cards and Strebre Delovski was named the Referee of the Year.

Get all the Australian football coverage you need on the Australia homepage!