Wolfsburg Bundesliga Champions After Win Over Werder Bremen

Wolfsburg have been crowned 2008-09 Bundesliga champions after a 5-1 win at home to Werder Bremen saw them finish above Bayern Munich…

Wolfsburg 5-1 Werder Bremen  

A superb 5-1 home win over UEFA Cup and DFB Pokal finalists Werder Bremen has seen VfL Wolfsburg claim their first ever Bundesliga title.  The Wolves stormed into a three goal lead only to see Diego pull one back for the visitors.  

However, Grafite added a fourth early in the second 45 minutes to seal a great victory and start the title winning party inside the Volkswagen Arena.  Edin Dzeko then added a fifth to make he and Grafite the most prolific strike duo in Bundesliga history.   

First Half  

Despite having the most possession in the opening minutes it was Wolfsburg who got their noses in front after just six minutes.   

The visitors were unable to clear the ball properly and Petri Pasanen gifted the ball to Makoto Hasebe.  The Japanese international’s pass was cleared only as far as Zvjezdan Misimovic, and the Bosnian fired in under the bar from eight meters out to put the home side well and truly in control.      

The champagne was then put on ice on the quarter of an hour mark with Grafite adding a second of the afternoon.  Christian Gentner passed into the six-yard box from the left, where Grafite was quicker than Sebastian Proedl and directed the ball into the net.   

Three minutes later and Grafite took a pass from Edin Dzeko on his chest before firing just wide of Tim Wiese’s goal.  Dzeko then had a chance of his own, but headed narrowly wide after a Grafite cross. 

On 26 minutes though, the third goal arrived in the home side’s favour.   Grafite left fellow Brazilian Naldo standing and his ball into the danger-zone was deflected into the net by the unfortunate Proedl. 

If it seemed like a walk in the park for the hosts, then they were brought down to earth following a goal from Werder midfielder Diego on the half hour mark.  Claudio Pizarro played the ball to the Brazilian with a back-heel and the talisman beat three defenders inside the area before firing past Diego Benaglio in the Wolfsburg goal.   

Werder continued to look dangerous and almost added a second goal before the interval when Aaron Hunt hit the bar with a volley after he beat the offside trap to meet a dream pass from centre-back Naldo.   

Second Half  

Werder were not lying down and letting Wolfsburg cruise to the title and Naldo had two great chances from free-kicks to get a second goal for the visitors.  On 47 minutes he forced a great save from Diego Benaglio, before firing narrowly over a few minutes later.  

The nerves inside the Volkswagen Arena were well and truly dispersed on 56 minutes when Grafite scored his second and Wolfsburg’s fourth of the afternoon.   A Misimovic free-kick from the right reached the far-post where Grafite was unmarked and the Brazilian headed in to put the Green ribbons on the Bundesliga trophy.   

Werder were handed another chance via a free-kick on 61 minutes, but Diego fired just wide after taking over the duties from Naldo. 

The crowd were then on their feet on 64 minutes as Dzeko advances goalwards hoping for the Bosnian to get in on the scoring act, but he delayed his shot and Wiese was able to smother.   

It was very nearly 5-1 on 71 minutes but Tim Wiese produced saves from both Misimovic and Grafite.  The fifth goal however did duly arrive on 74 minutes and it was Dzeko who scored it. 

Christian Gentner put over a perfect cross form the left to pick out the Bosnian hitman and he volleyed in from inside the six-yard box.   

The stadium buzzed for the final fifteen minutes as the Bundesliga title beckoned and Grafite even had a great chance to complete his hat trick on 89 minutes only to be denied by Tim Wiese.   

In the end, Wolfsburg triumphed in their usual style and were duly crowned Bundesliga champions.  Congratulations VfL Wolfsburg.  


1-0  Misimovic (6)

2-0  Grafite (15)

3-0  Proedl o.g (26)

3-1  Diego (31)

4-1  Grafite (56)

5-1  Dzeko (74)  

Wolfsburg: Benaglio, Hasebe (Pekarik 55), Madlung (Simunek 72), Barzagli, Schaefer, Josue, Riether (Schindzielorz 83), Gentner, Misimovic, Grafite, Dzeko  

Werder Bremen: Wiese, Fritz, Proedl, Naldo, Pasanen (Boenisch 61), Baumann (Niemeyer 72), Frings, Hunt (Oezil 62), Diego, Pizarro, Almeida  

Mathew Burt, Goal.com