News Live Scores

Messi leads Argentina Copa America squad

Argentina have named a preliminary 30-man squad brimming with attacking talent for the 2015 Copa América in Chile this summer.

Barcelona superstar Lionel Messi will again have the hopes of a nation on his shoulders, but the forward talent available to coach Gerardo Martino is likely to be the envy of their rivals.

Manchester City striker Sergio Agüero is joined by Juventus’ Carlos Tevez, Gonzalo Higuaín of Napoli, PSG’s Ezequiel Lavezzi and Nicolás Gaitán of Benfica.

Tottenham’s Erik Lamela has been included in the party, which will be trimmed to 23 names on or before the final deadline of June 1.

A host of Premier League players will be involved, with Manchester City trio Pablo Zabaleta, Martín Demichelis and Agüero joined by Manchester United's Ángel Di María and Marcos Rojo, while Swansea defender Federico Fernandez is also selected.

On June 5, Argentina travel to San Juan, near the Chilean border, to face Copa América rivals Bolivia in their final warm-up friendly.

La Albiceleste have been drawn in Group B, alongside defending champions Uruguay, who they take on in La Serena on June 16, three days after their opener against Paraguay in the same city.

Argentina round of their initial set of fixtures on June 20, when they take on invitees Jamaica in Viña del Mar. Preliminary Argentina squad for Copa América

Goalkeepers: Sergio Romero (Sampdoria), Nahuel Guzmán (Tigres), Mariano Andújar (Napoli), Agustín Marchesín (Santos Laguna).

Defenders: Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Facundo Roncaglia (Genoa), Ezequiel Garay (Zenit), Martín Demichelis (Manchester City), Nicolás Otamendi (Valencia), Federico Fernandez (Swansea City), Marcos Rojo (Manchester United), Milton Casco (Newell’s), Lucas Orbán (Valencia).

Midfielders: Javier Mascherano (Barcelona), Lucas Biglia (Lazio), Éver Banega (Sevilla), Roberto Pereyra (Juventus), Fernando Gago (Boca), Ángel Di María (Manchester United), Federico Mancuello (Independiente), Maxi Rodríguez (Newell’s), Enzo Pérez (Valencia), Erik Lamela (Tottenham), Javier Pastore (PSG).

Forwards: Lionel Messi (Barcelona), Nicolás Gaitán (Benfica), Sergio Agüero (Manchester City), Carlos Tevez (Juventus), Ezequiel Lavezzi (PSG), Gonzalo Higuaín (Napoli).