San Lorenzo crowned Torneo Inicial champions

The Argentine outfit could only draw their final game of the season, but results elsewhere ensured they won the tournament with the fewest points tally in its history
San Lorenzo have been crowned winners of the Torneo Inicial after their 0-0 draw with Velez Sarsfield on Sunday.

The clash between Newell's Old Boys and Lanus ended 2-2, which ensured Santo clinched their 12th national title, having finished the campaign with 33 points - the lowest winning total in the division's history - from their 19 games.

As well as winning the tournament, San Lorenzo also secured their place in the 2014 Copa Libertadores, alongside the already qualified Arsenal, Lanus, Newell's and Velez.

Elsewhere in Argentina, Rodolfo D'Onofrio was named the winner of River Plate's presidential elections and will be confirmed as the club's new leader once the results have been verified.