Chapecoense to be awarded Copa Sudamericana title

The Brazilian club are set to be given the trophy following a plane crash which killed 71 passengers, including many of their players and staff

Chapecoense will be awarded the 2016 Copa Sudamericana title, according to reports from Globo Esporte.

The Brazilian club were travelling to Medellin to face Colombian side Atletico Nacional in the first leg of the final when their plane crashed, killing 71 and leaving six more passengers injured.

Pele reflects on 'sad moment' of Chapecoense tragedy

Following the tragedy, Atletico Nacional appealed to South American football's governing body Conmebol, publishing a statement asking them to "give the title of Copa Sudamericana to Chapecoense as an honorary award for this great loss, and in posthumous homage to the victims of the fatal accident that rocked our sport. For our part, and forever, Chapecoense are champions of the 2016 Copa Sudamericana."

According to reports, Conmebol will respect their wishes and award the trophy to Chapecoense. However, a final decision on the title will likely not be made until December 21, when the Council of the Conmebol (formerly Executive Committee) next meet.

On Wednesday, Conmebol president Alejandro Dominguez discussed Atletico Nacional's request, but said that he would have to discuss it with his colleagues.

"It is very admirable, however, now is the time for us to get down to work," Dominguez told reporters.

"We will talk with the leaders in Brazil and Colombia as well as Nacional's front office. I don't know much about it right now but the gesture is honourable. I did not have time to review it yet. As soon as we finish our meeting we will make a statement about this subject."

Fans lauch campaign to get Ronaldinho to play for Chapecoense

The decision would also mean that Chapecoense automatically qualify for next season's Copa Libertadores, as well as the Supercopa Euroamericana which would pit them against the winners of the Europa League.

Awarding Chapecoense the trophy would be similar to the decision by Serie A clubs to grant Torino the league title in 1948-49 after all their players tragically died in a plane crash.