Raúl Out, Sergio García In Spain Euro 2008 Squad

Luis Aragonés final 23-man squad for Euro 2008 has thrown up a few surprises, but Raúl's exclusion, as expected, has gone ahead...
As expected, Raúl will miss out on Euro 2008 after being left out of the final squad, but his replacement is neither Raúl Tamudo nor Luís García of Espanyol. Rather, it is Sergio García of Real Zaragoza.

The wide-minded forward has been in top form in recent weeks despite his side's flirting with relegation: it is far from impossible that, despite his talents, he'll be the only second-tier player in the Spanish squad, given that Zaragoza could go down this week.

Elsewhere, Palop gets the nod ahead of Diego López in goal, while Fernando Navarro of Real Mallorca has done enough to earn a call-up in defence. Sevilla's injury-plagued Javi Navarro misses out.

Rubén de la Red becomes Getafe's first Spanish representative in a major final after making the midfield call-up, where he will be joined by Santiago Cazorla, who has had a banner season at Villarreal.

Up front, Dani Güiza, who is likely to win the 'Pichichi' award for top Liga goalscorer, joins regular forwards Villa and Torres, as well as García.

On the whole, though, the squad is bereft of surprises, with the likes of Casillas, Puyol, Sergio Ramos, Iniesta, Cesc, Xavi and Senna set to marshal the team as normal.

Notable omissions alongside Raúl include Ángel López of Villarreal, Valencia winger Joaquín, Bojan Krkić (who withdrew from the squad), and Atlético Madrid trio Pablo Ibáñez, Antonio López and Mariano Pernía. Indeed, in what is an unusual move for Aragonés, not a single rojiblanco has made the final 23.


By Position

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), Pepe Reina (Liverpool), Andrés Palop (Sevilla).

Defenders: Carles Puyol (Barcelona), Juanito (Real Betis), Arbeloa (Liverpool), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Fernando Navarro (RCD Mallorca), Raúl Albiol (Valencia), Carlos Marchena (Valencia), Joan Capdevila (Villarreal).

Midfielders: Cesc (Arsenal), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona), Xavi Hernández (Barcelona), Rubén de la Red (Getafe), Xabi Alonso (Liverpool), David Silva (Valencia), Santiago Cazorla (Villarreal), Marcos Senna (Villarreal).

Forwards: Fernando Torres (Liverpool), Daniel González Güiza (RCD Mallorca), David Villa (Valencia), Sergio García (Real Zaragoza).

By Club

Arsenal: Cesc
Barcelona: Puyol, Iniesta and Xavi
Real Betis: Juanito
Getafe: De la Red
Liverpool: Arbeloa, Reina, Torres and Xabi Alonso
Real Madrid: Casillas y Sergio Ramos
RCD Mallorca: Fernando Navarro y Güiza
Sevilla: Palop
Valencia: Albiol, Marchena, Silva and Villa
Villarreal: Capdevila, Cazorla y Senna
Real Zaragoza: Sergio García.

Ewan Macdonald, Goal.com