Fenerbahce win Turkish Super Lig following 4-3 victory over Sivasspor

Turkish giants set a new record after picking up their 18th league title

Fenerbahce have won the Turkish Super Lig after a 4-3 victory over Sivasspor.

It is the Yellow Canaries’ first title triumph since 2007 and the 18th in their storied history, helping them go past Galatasaray for the most number of league titles won in Turkey.

Aykut Kocaman’s side broke the deadlock early on through Andre Santos before Jakub Navratil equalised on 20 minutes.

Selcuk Sahin’s goal four minutes before the half-time interval put Fenerbahce back in front and six minutes into the second-half, Alex de Souza extended their advantage.

Erman Kilic pulled one back on 65 minutes for Sivasspor but Joseph Yobo scored his side’s fourth goal of the evening just moments later.

Although Kilic found the target on 90 minutes, it proved to be too little, too late for the hosts as Fener won the game 4-3.

Fenerbahce finish the 2010-11 league campaign level with Trabzonspor on 82 points, but win the championship because of a better goal average.

Follow Goal.com on . Get the latest football news direct... Check out Goal.com's  page; be part of the best football fan community in the world!