Bursaspor Pip Fenerbahce To Turkcell Super Lig Title

The maiden champions sneak past Fenerbahce to spark joyous scenes...
Bursaspor have won their first ever Turkcell Super Lig title after a dramatic final day of matches in Turkey, overtaking Fenerbahce to claim the crown by a single point.

The Yellow Canaries went into the final round of matches one point clear of Bursaspor, and knew that a victory at home to Trabzonspor would be enough to reclaim their league title that they relinquished in 2008.

Bursaspor had to defeat Besiktas and hope that Christoph Daum’s side would slip up, and they held their end of the bargain. Goals from Pablo Batalla and Ibrahim Toraman helped the Green Crocodiles to a 2-1 win.

Over in Istanbul, Fenerbahce took the lead through Spanish international striker Dani Guiza, but on 23 minutes Burak Yilmaz equalised for Trabzonspor, and despite sustained pressure the home side could not find a winning goal.

The match finished in a 1-1 draw, meaning that Bursapor’s victory moved them onto 75 points for the season, one ahead of Fenerbahce, and ensured that the title was heading to Bursa for the first ever time.

Become a fan of Goal.com International on Facebook! Just click onto Facebook.com/Goal to join the beautiful game's leading fan community...