Anderlecht defeat Ajax to clinch Aegon Future Cup

Despite home advantage, Ajax's Under-17 side fell short in the final of the Aegon Future Cup as they were beaten 1-0 in the final by an accomplished Anderlecht team.
Anderlecht's Under-17 side have won the Aegon Future Cup after defeating Ajax's youngsters in the final.

A third minute goal from Mohamed Soumare was enough to separate the two sides at Ajax's world renowned De Toekomst youth complex.

Ajax came close to equalising just before the midway point of the second half when winger Boban Lazic directed his free header wide of the goal. Lazic was denied nine minutes from the end when he almost profited from a defensive mix-up at the back.

The Brussels side, who also boasted Jordan Lukaku, brother of Romelu, at left-back and the hugely impressive Nathan Kabasele upfront, clung on at the end as they survived a late penalty appeal five minutes from time.

Anderlecht's number 10, Dennis Praet, who is just 16-years-old, was handed his player of the tournament award by Ajax's Danish playmaker Christian Eriksen, who took part in this competition two years ago.

Earlier, Bayern Munich beat Fluminense 7-6 on penalties in the third place play-off. The other participants in the tournament were Celtic, Ajax Cape Town, DC United and China's Under-17 side.

Follow on . Get the latest football news direct... Check out's  page; be part of the best football fan community in the world!