Fritz Walter Medals Distributed For Best German Youths

Peniel Mlapa, Mario Goetze and Timo Horn won the awards for best German player in their respective age groups of U-19, U-18 and U-17.
The DFB (German FA) has announced the winners of this year's Fritz Walter Awards for best German youth at the U-17, U-18 and U-19 age groups.

The winners are:

U-19: Gold - Peniel Mlapa (Hoffenheim); Silver - Stefan Bell (1860 Munich); Bronze - Shervin Radjaball-Fardi (Hertha Berlin)

U-18: Gold - Mario Goetze (Dortmund); Silver - Reinhold Yabo (Koeln); Bronze - Matthias Zimmermann (Karlsruhe)

U-17: Gold - Timo Horn (Koeln); Silver - Andre Hoffmann (Duisburg); Bronze - Kolja Pusch (Leverkusen)

Of the award recipients, Mlapa, Goetze and Yabo have all earned first-team appearances for their respective clubs in the Bundesliga. A ceremony for the winners will be held before Germany's Euro 2012 qualifier against Azerbaijan, which will be held in Koeln tonight at 20:45 local time.

Follow on . Get the latest football news direct... Check out's  page; be part of the best football fan community in the world!