A Brief History Of The Peace Cup

Goal.com's Ewan Macdonald takes a look at the history of the Peace Cup, the hottest pre-season tournament around...
Goal.com will be covering the Peace Cup 2009 from start to finish, from the live draw on the 16th of April right through to the final match. Why not check out our Peace Cup homepage?

This summer's Peace Cup 2009 in Andalucia will be the fourth edition of the pre-season tournament that began all the way back in 2003.

All three previous contests were held in South Korea, but even so, there is a distinct European flavour to the list of winners and even runners-up.

With the likes of Real Madrid, Juventus, and Aston Villa looking for silverware this year, we look back at who's lifted the trophy in the past...

2003 - South Korea

Winners: PSV Eindhoven

The inaugural peace cup took place in four cities in South Korea, featuring eight teams from across the world. The biggest names were Lyon and PSV Eindhoven, both of whom reached the final, but Seongham Ilhwa Chunma, backed by the tournament's organisers, also gave a good account of themselves by defeating Besiktas and Kaizer Chiefs in the group stage, finishing second to Lyon in Group A on goal difference.

The other group saw PSV finish top ahead of 1860 Munich, Nacional Montevideo, and LA Galaxy, before advancing to the final on July 22nd in Seoul. A Mark van Bommel penalty settled matters there in the 23rd minute, giving PSV the first Peace Cup of all time.

For Love & Money | PSV walk away with a trophy and $2m in 2003

2005 - South Korea
Winners: Tottenham Hotspur

Two years later Lyon were once again to reach the final, but yet again to finish up second-best. Again eight teams took part, but this time Lyon and PSV were in the same group. The French side finished level with both the Dutch outfit and Once Caldas on five points but going through on goal difference, Seongnam ending up dead last with zero.

Group B saw Spurs advance on goals scored ahead of Boca Juniors, with Mamelodi Sundowns of South Africa admirably edging Real Sociedad 1-0 to ensure that they finished a creditable third.

The final, again held in Seoul, saw Robbie Keane the hero of the hour as the Irishman netted twice to secure a 3-1 win over the Lyonnais.

Seoul Brothers | Robbie Keane, Ledley King and Michael Carrick celebrate Tottenham Hotspur's 2005 Peace Cup victory

2007 - South Korea
Winners: Lyon

Finally, Lyon were to lift the Peace Cup, but their passage to the podium was not to come without difficulty.

In the group stage they edged through on goal difference ahead of Reading and River Plate, managing two wins and a defeat to the English side, while Shimizu S-Pulse ended up with no points and no goals scored.

In Group A, meanwhile, Racing Santander had a hellish tournament, finishing last on one point, one behind Seongnam and fully five off runners-up Chivas Guadalajara. It was down to Bolton Wanderers to provide Lyon with competition in the final.

In the event, 56,000 fans had to wait 86 minutes to see Kim Kallstrom net the decisive goal to give Alain Perrin's side a 1-0 win over a Bolton line-up featuring Nicolas Anelka, Kevin Nolan, and Stelios Giannakopoulos, among others.

The Lyon's Den | Lyon won the 2007 contest against Bolton

Ewan Macdonald, Goal.com