David James Handed Number 1 Shirt As England Confirm Squad Numbers For World Cup 2010

'Crouchy' will be Three Lions' number 9...
England manager Fabio Capello has dropped a huge hint by handing veteran goalkeeper David James the No.1 jersey for the 2010 World Cup.

The ageing shot-stopper remains in contention with West Ham United 'keeper Robert Green and Manchester City's Joe Hart, with the former Real Madrid still keeping his first choice a mystery.

However, Green being handed No. 12, and Hart being given No. 23 could be a broad suggestion that the Three Lions' boss plans to use the 39-year-old as his first-choice during the showpiece event in South Africa.

Meanwhile, Peter Crouch - who landed the coveted No. 9 jersey - could be the answer to Capello's conundrum of settling on a strike partner for Wayne Rooney (10).

Skipper Rio Ferdinand retains the No.5 that he also wears for Manchester United, while John Terry (6), Ashley Cole (3) and Glen Johnson (2) make up the remainder of the back-line.

David Beckham being unavailable during the tournament owing to injury means that Aaron Lennon has been given No.7, while midfielders Steven Gerrard and Frank Lampard keep the No.4 and No.8 shirts, respectively.

England squad numbers (full list):

1. David James
2. Glen Johnson
3. Ashley Cole
4. Steven Gerrard
5. Rio Ferdinand (C)
6. John Terry
7. Aaron Lennon
8. Frank Lampard
9. Peter Crouch
10. Wayne Rooney
11. Joe Cole
12. Robert Green
13. Stephen Warnock
14. Gareth Barry
15. Matthew Upson
16. James Milner
17. Shaun Wright-Phillips
18. Jamie Carragher
19. Jermain Defoe
20. Ledley King
21. Emile Heskey
22. Michael Carrick
23. Joe Hart

No trip to South Africa is complete without a visit to its most beautiful and sunniest city. Durban offers much more than sandy beaches, safaris, casinos and the World Cup, for information on what to do and see, please click here.

Become a fan of Goal.com UK's Facebook fan page for all the latest news and insight into everything related to the beautiful game!