World Cup 2010: Pim Verbeek Announces Final Australia Squad

Socceroos squad settled for South Africa...
Australia coach Pim Verbeek has selected his final 23-man squad for the World Cup finals in South Africa.

Verbeek announced that Rhys Williams, Shane Lowry, Tommy Oar, James Holland and goalkeeper Eugene Galekovic missed out on the final squad, though Galekovic will continue to train with the squad as a back-up to the other three 'keepers in case of injury in the lead-up to the tournament.

The Dutch coach added that the 21-year-old Williams would have been a certain member of his squad had it not been for a pelvic injury. The young defender played through the pain barrier throughout the season, but isn't fit enough to play at the World Cup.

Australia will have to deal with Germany, Ghana and Serbia if they are to survive the group stage of the 2010 World Cup. They start the tournament with a match against Germany on June 13.

Goalkeepers -
Mark Schwarzer Fulham (ENG)
Brad Jones Middlesbrough (ENG)
Adam Federici Reading (ENG)
Defenders -
 Lucas Neill  Galatasaray (TUR)
Scott Chipperfield FC Basel (SUI)
David Carney FC Twente (NED)
Michael Beauchamp Al Jazira (UAE)
Craig Moore Unattached
Mark Milligan JEF United (JPN)
Luke Wilkshire Dinamo Moscow (RUS)
Midfielders -
Tim Cahill Everton (ENG)
Jason Culina Gold Coast United
Brett Emerton Blackburn Rovers (ENG)
Vince Grella Blackburn Rovers (ENG)
Brett Holman AZ Alkmaar (NED)
Richard Garcia Hull City (ENG)
Mark Bresciano Palermo (ITA)
Carl Valeri Sassuolo Calcio (ITA)
Dario Vidosic FC Nurnberg (GER)
Mile Jedinak Antalyaspor Kubulu (TUR)
Forwards -
Harry Kewell Galatasaray (TUR)
Josh Kennedy Nagoya Grampus (JAP)
Nikita Rukavytsya FC Twente (NED)

Become a fan of International on Facebook! Just click onto to join the beautiful game's leading fan community...