World Cup 2010: Official Germany Squad - Andreas Beck Omitted From Joachim Loew's Final 23-Man Roster

The Hoffenheim defender misses out on Loew's final squad for South Africa...
Germany coach Joachim Loew named his final squad for the 2010 World Cup on Tuesday evening.

Due to recent injuries to key players Michael Ballack, Christian Traesch, and Heiko Westermann, Loew had only one cut to make in order to trim his provisional squad down to 23 men.

Left with just two natural central midfielders in his squad, the Germany gaffer appeared set to omit a striker, but instead left out Hoffenheim right back Andreas Beck.

After Westermann, a versatile defender and midfielder, was forced to withdraw with injury, there was speculation that veteran enforcer Torsten Frings would earn a call-up. However, Loew opted to trust youth and stick with members of his provisional squad.

Among those included in Loew's final squad are international newcomers Dennis Aogo, Holger Badstuber, Jerome Boateng, Sami Khedira, Toni Kroos, and Thomas Mueller. Additionally, youngsters Mesut Ozil, Marko Marin and Sami Khedira were included, giving die Mannschaft a distinctly youthful look.

Germany, led by new captain Philipp Lahm, are set to take on Bosnia and Herzegovina on Thursday in their final warm-up match before the world's greatest contest begins. Ten days later, the three-time World Cup winners begin their quest for glory against Australia.
Goalkeepers -
Manuel Neuer Schalke 04
Tim Wiese Werder Bremen
Hans-Joerg Butt Bayern Munich
Defenders -
Philipp Lahm Bayern Munich
Dennis Aogo Hamburger SV
Holger Badstuber Bayern Munich
Jerome Boateng Hamburger SV
Per Mertesacker Werder Bremen
Serdar Tasci Stuttgart
Arne Friedrich Hertha Berlin
Midfielders -
Bastian Schweinsteiger Bayern Munich
Sami Khedira Stuttgart
Piotr Trochwoski Hamburger SV
Marko Marin Werder Bremen
Mesut Ozil Werder Bremen
Toni Kroos Bayern Munich
Marcell Jansen Hamburger SV
Forwards -
Mario Gomez Bayern Munich
Cacau Stuttgart
Thomas Mueller Bayern Munich
Miroslav Klose Bayern Munich
Lukas Podolski 1 FC Koeln
Stefan Kiessling Bayer Leverkusen