Humberto Coelho Reveals Tunisia Squad For Nigeria Showdown

The Portuguese trainer has selected 24 players for the highly important World Cup qualifier.
Tunisian national team coach Humberto Coelho held a press conference on Wednesday to announce the players who will form his roster for the Carthage Eagles’ upcoming World Cup qualifier versus Nigeria, which will be played in Abuja on September 6.

While the list is not very different from the one he used in a goalless draw against Cote d’Ivoire less than two weeks ago, there are some surprises in the squad. Three new players have been added, including Club Sportif Sfaxien’s Haithem Mrabet, Hannover’s Sofian Chahed, and Club Africain’s Zouhaier Dhaouadi.

Meanwhile, Wissem Ben Yahia has been dropped due to his poor form and Mohamed Ali Ghariani had to be replaced at the last minute due to a stress fracture he sustained with his new side Tours, which will keep him out for a minimum of one month.

As expected, neither Lassad Nouioui nor Amine Chermiti were included. Coelho was tempted to call-up the Deportivo La Coruna striker but a fax received by the Tunisian Football Federation from the Spanish side earlier this week clearly indicated that the player has still not recovered from his hamstring injury. Chermiti, on the other hand, was not called up because he is short on fitness.

The squad:

Goalkeepers: Hamdi Kasraoui (Lens), Aymen Mathlouthi (Etoile), Jassem Khaloufi (CS Sfaxien)
Defenders: Karim Hagui (Hannover/Germany), Yassine Mikari (Sochaux/France), Seif Ghezal (Young Boys/Switzerland), Aymen Abdennour (Etoile), Khaled Souissi (Club Africain), Radhouane  Felhi(1860 Munich), Bilel Ifaa (Club Africain), Ammar Jmel (Etoile)

Midfielders: Chaouki Ben Saada (Nice/France), Houcine Ragued (Slavia Prague/Czech), Fahd Ben Khalfakllah (Valencienne/France), Sofiene Chahed (Hannover/Germany), Chadi Hammami (CS Sfaxien), Khaled Korbi (Esperance), Haythem M'rabet (Sfaxien), Nabil Taider (Xanthi/Greece)

Strikers: Oussama Darragi (Esperance), Issam Jomaa (Lens/France), Sami Allagui (Grüther Fürt/Germany), Ali Zitouni (Antalya Sport/Turkey), Zouheir Dhaouadi (Club Africain)

Rami Ayari, & Samm Audu,