Joel Santana Names South Africa Confederations Cup Squad

The final 23-men to participate in the Confederations Cup for South Africa have been confirmed.
The South Africa squad was announced this morning by Joel Santana, with the Confederations Cup just over a week away.

The 29-man provisional squad was reduced to the FIFA regulation 23 player list ahead of the festival of champions.

Innocent Mdledle from Orlando Pirates made the cut in a surprise selection, while his Bucs team-mate Thulasizwe Mbuyane and last minute call up Mzuvukile Tom were cut from the final 23.

Veteran goalkeeper Brian Baloyi made the squad in favour of Moneeb Josephs. Sundowns defender Matthew Booth was also selected for the final Confederations Cup squad. In a strange surprise, experienced Spain based defender Nasief Morris was left out of the squad.

The 23-man Bafana Bafana squad named by Brazilian coach Joel Santana to contest this month’s FIFA Confederations Cup is:

Goalkeepers: Brian Baloyi (Mamelodi Sundowns), Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Rowen Fernandez (Armenia Bielefeld, Germany)

Defenders: Matthew Booth (Mamelodi Sundowns), Siboniso Gaxa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Morgan Gould (SuperSport United), Tsepo Masilela (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Aaron Mokoena (Portsmouth, England), Bryce Moon (Panithinikos, Greece), Bongani Khumalo (SuperSport United)

Midfielders: Lance Davids (SuperSport United), Kagisho Dikgacoi (Golden Arrows), Teko Modise (Orlando Pirates), Steven Pienaar (Everton, England), Macbeth Sibaya (Rubin Kazan, Russia), Siphiwe Tshabalala (Kaizer Chiefs), Benson Mhlongo (Orlando Pirates), Elrio van Heerden (Blackburn Rovers, England), Innocent Mdledle (Orlando Pirates)

Strikers: Bernard Parker (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia), Katlego Mphela (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thembinkosi Fanteni (Maccabi Haifa, Israel), Katlego Mashego (Orlando Pirates)

Peter Pedroncelli,