Inter & Barcelona Dominate UEFA Club Football Award Nominations

The usual suspects all are there...
European football governing body, UEFA, have announced the names of shortlisted players for the positional awards as well for the UEFA Club Footballer of the Year award.

European champions Inter have no fewer than five players in the list of 12, with Julio Cesar, Lucio, Maicon, Wesley Sneijder and Diego Milito all making the cut. Beaten European Cup finalists Bayer Munich have just one - winger Arjen Robben.

2008-09 European champions Barcelona are represented by Victor Valdes, Gerard Pique, Xavi and Lionel Messi while Wayne Rooney of Manchester United is the only player from the Premier League.

The nominations were decided by the coaches of the 16 teams that reached the knockout stage of last season's Champions League. Each coach will be given the opportunity to vote for the individual positional prizes as well choose their respective UEFA Club Footballer of the Year 2010.

The final announcement will be made during the awards ceremoney at the Grimaldi Forum on August 26.

Full list of nominees:

UEFA Best Goalkeeper of the Year
Julio Cesar (Inter)
Hugo Lloris (Olympique Lyonnais)
Víctor Valdes (Barcelona)

UEFA Best Defender of the Year
Lucio (Inter)
Maicon (Inter)
Gerard Pique (Barcelona)

UEFA Best Midfielder of the Year
Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona)
Arjen Robben (Bayern Munich)
Wesley Sneijder (Inter)

UEFA Best Forward of the Year
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Diego Milito (Inter)
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)

Our  provides the best breaking news online and our  football fan community is unmatched worldwide. Never miss a thing again!