PSL Season Awards: Katlego Mphela And Daine Klate Win Big

Morgan Gould takes the Player of the Season award.
The curtain came done on a historic and landmark 2009-10 PSL season at the State Theatre in Pretoria yesterday evening when the League hosted its annual PSL Awards.

Guests were treated to an array of entertainment in a show screened live by both the SABC and SuperSport.

SuperSport United’s Morgan Gould scooped the evening’s flagship award, the PSL Player of the Year for 2009-10. He had close competition from Katlego Mphela and Elias Pelembe, but the voting from all 16 Premiership club coaches went in favor of Gould.

“Tonight is not only a celebration of player excellence, but also the achievement of the PSL this season,” said PSL CEO, Kjetil Siem at the awards ceremony.

“It was an extremely challenging season, but I’m extremely happy at what we have achieved on and off the field.”

“Congratulations to all the winners and nominees this evening. You certainly deserve all the accolades,” added Siem.

In other awards, Daine Klate was crowned the Absa Premiership Player of the Season while Katlego Mphela walked away with the Absa Premiership Players' Player of the Season award.

Veteran Kaizer Chiefs goalkeeper Arthur Baartman rolled back the years when he was awarded with the Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament gong.   Matthew Pattison and Patrick Phungwayo grabbed the two Nedbank Awards on offer – the Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament and the Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player.

Promising Golden Arrows midfielder, Njabulo Manqana picked up the MTN8 Player of the Tournament.

PSL Chairman, Dr Irvin Khoza, dedicated the Chairman’s award to SuperSport United after their third consecutive triumph in the Absa Premiership.

There was also an award for the top goal scorer in the National First Division and that was shared by Mulondo Sikhwhivilu and Tebogo Mashaba.


Absa Premiership Player of the Season: Daine Klate

Absa Premiership Coach of the Season: Gavin Hunt

Absa Premiership Players Player: Katlego Mphela

Absa Premiership Red Hot Young Player: Siyanda Xulu

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper of the Season: Moeneeb Josephs

Absa Premiership Absa-lutely Awesome Goal: Rudolf Bester from Maritzburg United against Kaizer Chiefs (12/09/2009)

Cup Competitions:

Telkom Knockout Player of the Tournament: Arthur Baartman

MTN8 Player of the Tournament: Njabulo Manqana

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player: Patrick Phungwayo

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Matthew Pattison 

Become a fan of International on Facebook! Just click onto to join the beautiful game's leading fan community...