Bayern Munich's Emre Can, Schalke's Julian Draxler & Borussia Monchengladbach's Marc-Andre ter Stegen honoured with 2011 Fritz Walter Medals

Awards were distributed on Friday, honouring Germany's brightest young male and female talents at U17, U18, and U19 levels
The 2011 Fritz Walter medals were handed out on Friday, honouring Germany's brightest young talents.

Named after the legendary Kaiserslautern man who captained the German national team to a shock World Cup title in 1954, the awards are meant to credit teams and players for their performances on the pitch, as well as their strength of character.

In addition, the clubs of the gold medal recipients were given €20,000 for their part in developing their young talents.

For his part in helping Borussia Monchengladbach avoid relegation, Marc-Andre ter Stegen won the gold medal at U19 level. Julian Draxler, who scored two outstanding goals for Schalke in the DFB Pokal, was given top honours in the category. And for his fine performance as captain of the Germany U17 team, Bayern Munich's Emre Can was awarded the gold medal at U17 level.

Of the nine players to be honoured last year, only Matthias Zimmermann earned honours for a second time. The Monchengladbach man, who recently left Karlsruhe, won the Bronze medal at U18 level in 2010, and was presented with the U19 silver award on Friday.

Germany's best female talents were also honoured: Johanna Elsig was named the best talent at U19 level, while Luisa Wensing and Melanie Leupolz earned the superlatives at U18 and U17 levels, respectively.

A complete account of the awards can be found below.

Gold: Marc-Andre ter Stegen (Borussia Monchengladbach)
Silver: Matthias Zimmermann (Borussia Monchengladbach)
Bronze: Kevin Volland (1860 Munich)

Gold: Julian Draxler (Schalke)
Silver: Sonny Kittel (Eintracht Frankfurt)
Bronze: Markus Mendler (Nurnberg)

Gold: Emre Can (Bayern Munich)
Silver: Robin Yalcin (Stuttgart)
Bronze: Odisseas Vlachodimos (Stuttgart)

Gold (U19): Johanna Elsig (Bayer Leverkusen)
Silver (U18): Luisa Wensing (FCR Duisburg)
Bronze (U17): Melanie Leupolz (Freiburg)