Indonesia, Australia And East Timor To Vie For Timor Sea Cup 2010‏

It is almost time for the second edition...

Football is helping to rebuild ties between in south-east Asia.

The beautiful game is set to bring together Timor Leste, the former Portuguese colony which won its independence from Indonesia in 1999, the neighbouring Indonesian province of Nusa Tenggara Timur, whose capital is located in the western half of Timor island, and Australia’s nearby Northern Territory, from where an international peace keeping force departed to stabilise the new nation after a United Nations-sanctioned plebiscite elected to separate from Indonesia.

The second edition of the  ConocoPhillips  Timor  Sea  Cup  will  be  played  in  Dili,  Timor Leste’s capital,  from  29  April  to 2 May 2010. The final will be held on Sunday 2 May.

The tournament brings together men’s under-18 football teams  from Nusa Tenggara Timur province. the Northern  Territory and Timor-Leste.

Former Manchester United and England player Paul Parker will  coach  the  Northern  Territory  team.  Paul will also be conducting coaching clinics during his stay in Dili.  

The inaugural tournament was held in Darwin in 2008. The event was considered a success, with Timor-Leste winning the final 3-0 over the Northern Territory.

The ConocoPhillips Timor Sea Cup has been secured for three years, with next year’s Cup being held in Darwin during the Arafura Games (7-14 May 2011).

In 2012 the ConocoPhillips Timor Sea Cup is likely to be held in Kupang, West Timor, the capital of Nusa Tenggara Timur province.