Real Madrid win 2011-12 La Liga title

The Santiago Bernabeu side defeated Athletic Bilbao at the San Mames to celebrate the Spanish league title two games before the end of the Liga campaign
Real Madrid have secured their 32nd Primera Division title by beating Athletic Bilbao 3-0 on Wednesday evening. Goals from Gonzalo Higuain, Mesut Ozil and Cristiano Ronaldo helped head coach Jose Mourinho's men to the full three points.

Los Blancos hold a seven-point lead over second-placed Barcelona with only two more league games to be played.

Madrid last won the Liga title in 2007-08 when they finished eight points clear of Villarreal, but Pep Guardiola's Barca then claimed the following three championships.

With Cristiano Ronaldo as their undisputed star, the Santiago Bernabeu side have dominated the Primera for much of the campaign, and they opened up a 10-point lead several weeks ago.

But, a difficult period featuring draws against Malaga, Villarreal and Valencia helped the Catalans back in the title hunt as they closed the gap to just four points at the top.

Any hope Barca had of a miraculous comeback, though, was ended in the Clasico at Camp Nou on April 21, as Madrid won 2-1 to effectively end the title race. This was confirmed tonight in Bilbao.

Los Blancos take on Granada and Mallorca in their remaining two Liga games.