Should Messi be banned for Yanga-Mbiwa headbutt?

The Argentine attacker lashed out at the French international and grabbed at his throat but only received a yellow card - should he be hit with a ban for his actions?
Lionel Messi had a rare moment of on-field controversy in Wednesday's Joan Gamper Trophy final against Roma when he squared off with Mapou Yanga-Mbiwa.

The Argentine lashed out at the French international during the first half of his side's 3-0 win and headbutted him before grabbing at the defender's throat.

The referee quickly stepped in to separate the two and they found themselves lucky to remain on the pitch afterwards, as they were both shown yellow cards instead of reds.

Messi certainly should have been sent off for his lashing out, but should Uefa retroactively punish the attacker for his actions?

Have your say by voting in our poll!