Arda Turan avoids ban for linesman boot throw

Barcelona midfielder Xavi is baffled that the Turk has not received any sort of suspension, while Diego Simeone defended his team's boisterous style
Arda Turan has avoided any sort of retrospective suspension for throwing his boot at the linesman in Atletico Madrid's midweek defeat to Barcelona.

Diego Simeone's men were eliminated from the Copa del Rey in a 3-2 second-leg defeat on Wednesday, having lost the first leg 1-0 at Camp Nou, and the game was full of controversial moments.

Atletico finished the evening with nine men but they could have been reduced further had the referee taken more of an issue with Arda throwing his boot at the linesman in anger, but instead the Turk only received a booking.

The referee's report of the Copa del Rey quarter-final said "Arda threw his boot away", rather than insinuating the midfielder had attempted to hit his fellow official with the footwear, and so he will not miss any upcoming Atletico matches.

Barca veteran Xavi was disgusted with the incident and slammed the decision not to hand Arda a ban of some sort for his behaviour at the Vicente Calderon.

"I'm surprised about it - it should have been a straight red card," the midfielder told reporters on Friday. "But it's clearly not the job of players to make these decisions. For me it is red card as it was an unacceptable reaction."

Simeone, who unexpectedly guided the Rojiblancos to La Liga glory last year, defended his players' actions in the feisty Barca clash and thinks the boisterous nature of his team is part of what has made them successful.

"To fight with the best improves you," the Argentine coach said. "This is a great value of our team and we should keep it."