Real Madrid star Cristiano Ronaldo has insisted that he did not deserve to be sent off in the 2-0 win over Malaga at the Bernabeu.
The Portuguese winger scored twice in the space of three minutes in the first half to put Madrid in the driving seat but was dismissed after his arm connected with Patrick Mtiliga's face but Ronaldo maintains the blow was not intentional.
"It's a shame that the referee has sent me off. That's not a red here or anywhere in the world," he said afterwards, as reported by Marca.
"I intend only to play. In England I learned a lot about this because it used to bother me, but now I get a little angry when players do things like that [pulling him back]. I went to apologise to Mtiliga and he said I did not need to because my intention was not to attack him.
"We may see blood but anyone who knows football understands that this is not red. It was the result of bad luck because the guy measures only 1 metre 70, had he been taller it would have it him in the chest.
"I'm very sad about what happened because I'm not a bad person. Anyone who plays football knows that my intention was not to hurt him but to defend myself from his grab. I did not want to hurt him. "