AC Milan dominate 2011 Oscar del Calcio awards

The 15th edition of the annual player of the year awards in Milan on Monday saw the champions take most of the plaudits by featuring heavily in the final list of winners
The recipients of the 2011 Oscar del Calcio awards were announced on Monday, with AC Milan dominating the proceedings.

However, there were also honours for last season's surprise packages Napoli and Udinese, who had the likes of Edinson Cavani and Antonio Di Natale also deservedly noted for their efforts during 2010-11.

The Rossoneri-heavy list starts with Best Coach being awarded to Massimiliano Allegri, for winning the Serie A title in only his first season at San Siro, while ending the club's seven-year wait for another Scudetto success.

Elsewhere, Thiago Silva's claim to be among the best defenders in the world was further underlined after he scooped by Best Defender, while Zlatan Ibrahimovic was arguably the biggest winner, picking up both Best Player and Best Foreigner.

Meanwhile, other Milan players to be credited include Alessandro Nesta, who tied with Inter's Andrea Ranocchia for a centre-back berth in the Team of the Year, and Christian Abbiati, who was voted runner-up to Samir Handanovic for Best Goalkeeper.

The recipients of the awards are as follows:

Oscar del Calcio winners

  • Best coach: Massimiliano Allegri
  • Runners-up: Francesco Guidolin and Walter Mazzarri
  • Best Goalkeeper: Samir Handanovic
  • Runners-up: Christian Abbiati and Morgan De Sanctis
  • Best Defender: Thiago Silva
  • Runners-up: Andrea Barzagli and Mehdi Benatia
  • Best Foreigner: Zlatan Ibrahimovic
  • Runners up: Edinson Cavani and Samuel Eto’o
  • Best Referee: Nicola Rizzoli
  • Runners up: Paolo Tagliavento and Paolo Valeri
  • Best Club: Udinese
  • Most Points: Milan (80)
  • Highest Goalscorer: Edinson Cavani (28)
  • Team of the Year: Handanovic; Maggio, Thiago Silva, Nesta (tied with Ranocchia), Armero; Hamsik, Boateng, Motta (tied with Marchisio); Ibrahimovic, Cavani, Di Natale