Pierluigi Collina: Inter’s Goal Against Bologna Was Good

Collina has given his views on the big talking point from Serie A on the weekend: Esteban Cambiasso’s goal for Inter in their fixture against Bologna...
Head of Italian referees Pierluigi Collina believes Esteban Cambiasso's goal against Bologna on Saturday was perfectly legitimate, despite a number of doubts voiced by others.

The Argentinean scored for Inter after latching onto Adriano's knock down. It is here where an element of controversy emerged as the ball seemed to have struck the Brazilian's arm as he headed it towards the midfielder, the incident being similar to the Milan derby goal.

Cambiasso put the ball in the net and Collina insists there was no element of handball on Adriano's part.

"I saw replays of the Bologna goal and, in my opinion, there is nothing to talk about," Collina told Radio Anchio Sport.

"I was also there at San Siro and no-one noticed the goal. In addition, [UEFA president] Michel Platini did not said it was irregular.

"The rules speak about whether the action is voluntary or not - ball to hand or hand to ball - and there is also the distance element."

Collina has also given his views on UEFA's ideas regarding two officials behind each goal as well as the proposals regarding an orange card.

"Platini likes the idea of the extra officials on the pitch and the Italian FA are ready to experiment but the decision remains with the head of referees [at UEFA]," added the former whistle blower.

"There is also talk of an orange card, which could be used when a red card is too much and a yellow too little."

The orange card would see players sent off temporarily and allowed to come back on at the referee’s discretion.

Salvatore Landolina, Goal.com