News Live Scores

ZESCO United v NAPSA Stars Match Report, 13/06/2021

2 - 0
Levy Mwanawasa Stadium
Zesco United 2-0 Napsa Stars: Were, Kampamba heroes as Ndola side claims Super League title
16:45 BST 13/06/2021
Jesse Were of Kenya and Harambee Stars and Zesco United.
Timu ya Ziko bagged their ninth trophy and are now sure of participating in the continental tournament

Kenya international Jesse Were and Kelvin Kampamba struck to hand the Zambian Super League title to Zesco United against Napsa Stars at the Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in Ndola on Sunday.

Were - the all-time top scorer for Zesco United - scored in the first half before Kampamba added the second in the other half as the hosts emerged 2-0 winners against the struggling side.

Were had the first chance in the eighth minute, but he was not clinical enough as his effort was saved by the goalkeeper, Shaban Odhoji in the Napsa Stars goal. A minute later, the Kenyan goalkeeper was alert enough to save the Pensioners from conceding as he collected a powerful header by Samuel Sikaonga.

In the 11th minute, a combination of Simon Nkhata and Tapson Kaseba almost gave Napsa Stars the lead, but the former was flagged down because he was in an offside position while he received the final cross.

Both Kampamba and Thabni Kamusoko were unable to break the deadlock in the 16th and 19th minutes, respectively, with Zesco United determined to get the first goal. For the second time, Were did not manage to beat the former Gor Mahia goalkeeper as a close-range shot by the ex-Tusker striker was collected with ease a minute past the half-hour mark.

But in the 39th minute, Were - who previously earned his 100th goal for Timu ya Ziko - managed to find the back of the net and could have earned a brace, but Odhoji denied him again in the 45th minute. Kampamba was unlucky to double the lead with two of his efforts in the 50th and 51st minutes stopped by Odhoji, who was the busier of the two goalkeepers.

Kaseba came close to equalising for Napsa Stars in the 52nd minute, but a largely untested Toaster Nsabata stopped his effort from finding the target.  

The hosts were dominant all through especially in the remaining 20 minutes and they doubled the scoreline in the 80th minute through Kampamba. The Ndola side emerged winners to claim the trophy despite struggling in the opening stages of the second half.

Zesco United XI: Toaster Nsabata, Simon Silwimba, John Chishimba, Solomon Sakala, Adrian Chama, Samuel Sikaonga, John Ching'andu, Thabani Kamusoko, Winston Kalengo, Jesse Were, Kelvin Kampamba.

Napsa Stars XI: Shaban Odhoji, Gift Zulu, Daniel Obeng, David Odhiambo, Luka Banda, Dickson Chapa, Simon Nkhata, Doisy Soko, Tapson Kaseba, Jimmy Mukeya, Danny Silavwe.