Yanga SC 1-1 Simba SC: Sarpong, Onyango contribute in their first Kariakoo Derby
Simba SC vs Yanga SC.
Yanga SC.
After his tackle against the Ghanaian resulted in a penalty, the Kenya defender scored late to ensure the tense tie ended in a draw

Young Africans (Yanga SC) and Simba SC fought to a 1-1 draw in their first 2020/21 Mainland Premier League Kariakoo Derby at the Benjamin Mkapa Stadium on Saturday.

Michael Sarpong and Joash Onyango scored the goals that ensured the tie, which pitted the traditional rivals, ended even in the league’s 10th match.

Although it was an end to end affair from the first minute, no team managed to break the deadlock until after the half-hour mark.

Yanga won a penalty and Sarpong did justice to his hardworking teammates by converting from the spot and tilt the scoreline in their favour.

Tuisila Kisinda’s great surge towards Simba’s box was responsible for the only most open opportunity that resulted in the penalty. Onyango tripped the Ghanaian centre-forward and the referee pointed to the spot with Simba players protesting – as they felt Kisinda was fouled outside the 18-yard area – while head coach Sven Vandenbroeck stood stunned on the touchline.

Sarpong scored to make his goals from the spot three since joining Timu ya Wananchi from Rayon Sports. As Sarpong enjoyed a good moment in his maiden Kariakoo Derby, it was the exact opposite to Onyango who was signed from Gor Mahia.

Clatous Chama, who was a doubt for the match due to a knock he suffered against Kagera Sugar, was one of the outstanding Simba players but his efforts were nonetheless fruitless as none was in a position to convert any of the chances he created before half-time.

Simba head coach Vandenbroeck had to make an instant change just as the second half started when he introduced Hassan Dilunga in place of Larry Bwalya who also had a first taste of the Kariakoo Derby since his arrival.

Yanga’s Cedric Kaze made a change in the 52nd minute when his captain Lamine Moro got injured and his place was filled by Juma Makapu. The Ghanaian had missed a number of matches before and the latest injury might sideline him further as Yanga keep pace in the race towards the title.

In the 71st minute, Yanga made another change as goalscorer Sarpong was replaced by another new signing Yacouba Sogne.

Onyango scored in the 86th minute to ensure the two teams picked a point from the tense encounter in Dar es Salaam.

Simba won a corner that was delivered by Luis Miquisosne and Onyango rose quite high to head the ball past Metacha Mnata.

Yanga SC XI: Metacha Mnata, Shomari Kibwana, Yassin Mustapha, Lamine Moro, Bakari Mwamnyeto, Mukoko Tonombe, Tuisila Kisinda, Feisal Salum, Michael Sarpong, Ditram Nchimbi, Farid Mussa.

Article continues below

Subs: Farouk Shikhalo, Adeyum Saleh, Abdallah Shaibu, Zawadi Mauya, Deus Kaseke, Yacouba Sogne.

Simba SC Starting XI: Aishi Manula, Shomari Kapombe, Mohamed Hussein, Pascal Wawa, Joash Onyango, Jonas Mkude, Larry Bwalya, Mzamiru Yassin, Johhn Bocco, Clatous Chama, Luis Miquissone.

Subs: Beno Kakolanya, Gadiel Michael, Ibrahim Ame, Said Juma, Hassan Dilunga, Ibrahim Ajibu, Francis Kahata.

Comments ()