News Live Scores
Manchester City

Guardiola OUT of UEFA's top 10 coaches

12:50 SAST 2017/01/14
Pep Guardiola Premier League Manchester City v Watford 181216
Jose Mourinho, Sir Alex Ferguson and Brian Clough are all included but the Manchester City boss was unable to make his way onto the list

UEFA has published its list of the top 10 coaches in the history of football, including Jose Mourinho but leaving out Pep Guardiola.

Kante only getting better at Chelsea after Leicester heroics

The Manchester United manager finds himself on the illustrious shortlist after his success in charge of Porto, Chelsea, Inter and Real Madrid.

The self-dubbed 'Special One' led the former to an unlikely Champions League triumph in 2004, before winning a trio of Premier League titles at the Blues across two seperate spells.

Mourinho lifted his second Champions League trophy in charge of Inter, before clinching a La Liga title at Madrid.

However, ex-Barcelona coach Guardiola has not been included despite his success at Camp Nou.

The current Manchester City boss initiated a wave of success when he first took over at Barcelona, leading them to three La Liga titles and winning the Champions League twice.

Guardiola then moved to Bayern Munich and clinched three Bundesliga titles, though his achievements have not landed him among UEFA's final consideration.

It is Mourinho alone, then, who joins Manchester United legend Sir Alex Ferguson, with the Scot leading the Old Trafford side for 28 years and winning the Premier League a remarkable 13 times along with two Champions League titles.

Why Zidane is right to bench Ronaldo

Rinus Michels - widely acknowledged as the inventor of Total Football in charge of Ajax, Barcelona and the Netherlands during the 1970s and FIFA's Coach of the Century - is present alongside Helenio Herrera, who utilised Catenaccio to great effect at Inter.

Johan Cruyff, who built on Michels' legacy at the same clubs, is joined by author of the original underdog story, Brian Clough, recognised for leading unfancied Nottingham Forest to consecutive European Cup triumphs in 1979 and 1980.

Vicente del Bosque is in for his success at Real Madrid and then Spain - whom he led to their first World Cup triumph in 2010 and then a successful defence of their European championships crown in 2012.

Bayern Munich icon Udo Lattek, Valeri Lobanovskiy and AC Milan hero Arrigo Sacchi complete the list.