I-League: East Bengal thrash Kalighat M.S 4-1 in pre-season friendly

East Bengal
Former Aizawl FC midfield marshal Mahmoud Al Amna impressed in his debut match for East Bengal as he scored one and set up two goals...

East Bengal thrashed Kalighat M.S 4-1 in their first practice match of the season on Friday.

New foreign recruit Mahmoud Al Amna from Aizawl FC was on target on the day as he scored the opening goal of the match from the penalty spot. Striker V.P Suhair netted a brace and another newcomer Joby Justin was on target against the minnow.

Al Amna opened the score sheet for the Red and Golds from the penalty spot. It was a calm and composed finish by the veteran Syrian. The midfielder provided a brilliant pass to Brandon Vanlalremdika on the right flank who crossed into the box. Joby Justin met the cross and found the back of the net quite easily.

East bengal pre season

The third goal came from the feet of VP Suhair who followed a brilliant through ball from Amna from the central midfield. He dribbled past the opponent custodian and netted the ball. East Bengal went into the break with a convincing 3-0 lead.

ISL: ATK sign Robbie Keane

VP Suhair added to his tally in the second half taking the score line out of the reach of Kalighat who were now staring at an embarrassing defeat. The away side though pulled one back with a free-kick in the 80th minute.

Khalid Jamil fielded several players today including striker Willis Plaza and his compatriot Carlyle Mitchell. Both the players looked to be in good shape. Mitchell and Plaza are supposed to join their national team Trinidad and Tobago for international matches in September.

east bengal pre season

Four Indian players - Arnab Mondal, Salam Ranjan Singh, Mohammed Rafique and Nikhil Poojary from the East Bengal squad are also supposed to leave on August 10th for the national camp to be held in Chennai.

Article continues below

A new and fresh looking East Bengal side under the tutelage of I-League winning coach Khalid Jamil will be eyeing a record eighth Calcutta Football League title on the trot. The tournament kicks off on August 7.

east bengal pre season

East Bengal Starting XI: Mirshad K; Samad Ali Mallick, Mehtab Singh, Dipak Kumar, Lalram Chullova; Brandon Vanlalremdika, Richard Costa, Cavin Lobo, Mahmoud Al Amna, Danmawia Ralte; Joby Justin.