Hassan Abdalla wins MVP award as Bandari defies FKF directive

Goal Kenya.
Fred Nkata and Duncan Otewa shared the the Most Discipline award

Bandari have gone against a directive by the Football Kenya Federation that put an embargo on awards other than those sanctioned by the federation.

KPL last week sent out a circular to all KPL clubs warning that they should participate only in the Awards recognized by the federation. 

“As we head to the end of the 2018 football season, please be advised that there shall be a single end of the year award Gala that will be sanctioned by Football Kenya Federation and the Kenyan Premier League.

"This is, therefore, to request that all FKF members comply,” said FKF CEO Robert Muthomi in a statement dated October 3 and obtained by Goal.

The letter, however, was not specific about the scope under which clubs should operate leaving others questioning whether the clubs shouldn't hold their own awards.

And on Tuesday, Bandari went ahead to hold the first end-of-the-season Awards, where Hassan Abdalla was voted the club’s best Player of the Season.

Hassan, who is currently away in Ethiopia with the national team, had a stellar performance with the Dockers, who finished second behind champions Gor Mahia.

Ugandan Wiliam Wadri scooped the Best Striker gong after hitting the back of the net 12 times for the Bernard Mwalala led side in the league alone.

Article continues below

Wilberforce Lugogo took home the Best Midfielder award while undisputed 2018 KPL custodian of the year, Faruk Shikhalo won the Best Goalkeeper.

Other winners include Mohammed Siraj (Fair Play) while Fred Nkata and Duncan Otewa shared the Most Discipline award. Captain Felly Mulumba scooped the Defender of the Year award.