Mashaba names South Africa's Cosafa Cup squad

Bafana Bafana head Coach Ephraim “Shakes” Mashaba has named a 20-man squad to represent the country at the 2016 Edition of the Cosafa Cup in Windhoek, Namibia

The South African Senior Men’s National Team will participate in the Cosafa Castle Cup from the quarter-final stage against Group B winners on 18 June.

The tournament runs from 11-25 June 2016 and all matches will be played at Sam Nujoma and Independence Stadium.

"After long deliberations with the other coaches regarding the Cosafa Cup, we came to the conclusion that we must use this tournament to build our future teams," said Mashaba.

"Many a time we as national team coaches always talk about how little time we have with the players ahead of a big game and how we didn’t have enough time to prepare but now we have ample time to do that. 

""The 2016 squad for the Cosafa Cup is mainly made up of u23 players and we are using the tournament as part of the preparations for the upcoming 2016 Rio Olympics," added Mashaba.

Full squad:

1. Jody FEBRUARY Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
2. Reyaad PIETERSE Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
3. Nkosingiphile GUMEDE Golden Arrows (SA)

4. Tshepo RIKHOTSO Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)
5. Kwanda MNGONYAMA Maritzburg United FC (SA)
6. Abbubaker MOBARA Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
7. Tercious Repo MALEPE Moroka Swallows (SA)
8. Themba SIKHAKHANE Golden Arrows FC (SA)
9. Tebogo MOERANE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
10. Siphesihle STUURMAN Cape Town All Stars FC (SA)

11. Gift MOTUPA Orlando Pirates FC (SA)
12. Aubrey MODIPA Mpumalanga Black Aces FC (SA)
13. Keagan DOLLY Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
14. Phumlani NTSHANGASE Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
15. Deolin MEKOA Maritzburg United FC (SA)
16. Lebogang PHIRI Brondby FC (Denmark)

17. Thabiso KUTUMELA Baroka FC (SA)
18. Judas MOSEAMEDI Mpumalanga Black Aces FC (SA)
19. Thapelo MORENA Bloemfontein Celtic FC (SA)
20. Lebogang MOTHIBA FC Lille (France)